36th Annual Meeting and Scientific Conference

Empowering Faculty of Color for Research, Education, Practice, Policy and Innovation

Biloxi, MS

June 7 – 10, 2023


Registration includes all conference materials, continuing education credit, continental breakfast, and Awards Banquet.


Become a sponsor of ABNF’s 35th Annual Institute and Scientific Conference and help us support the future of Black Faculty in Nursing while strengthening the Black Nursing Faculty Community.


Beau Rivage Resort & Casino in Biloxi, MS is your luxury destination for the Mississippi Gulf Coast! Beau Rivage Resort & Casino is the host hotel for ABNF’s 36th Annual Institute and Scientific Conference.


ABNF Awards Committee is seeking to honor those nurses who contribute to the Mission and Goals of the Association of Black Nursing Faculty, Inc, who carry on the traditions of revered past honorees, and who exemplify the distinguishing criteria of the awards.

ABNF Awards will be presented at the 2023 Annual Meeting and Scientific Conference to be held June 7-11, 2023.  

See the official ABNF Conference Awards list below and submit your nomination by May 1, 2023.


The Young Publisher Award 

Has had manuscripts published during the preceding year which address the health care needs of African American clients, families and communities or African American faculty members and students.

The Young Researcher Award 

Has received funding for research related to the African American client, family, community, faculty member or student.

The Lucille Davis Dissertation Award 

Given to an ABNF faculty member in the dissertation phase of his or her doctoral studies.

The Johnella Banks Member Achievement Award 

Is given for distinguished achievements in multiple areas during the preceding year. Must provide, for example, notable biographical information with regard to published articles, exact amount of grant funding, the funding number and agency, with specific examples of scholarly awards and recognition.

ABNF Honorary Membership  

For individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to nursing but are no longer teaching.

The Lifetime Achievement in Education and Research Award 

Given to those who have made a significant contribution to nursing and/or health care of African American clients. The recipient does not have to be a member of ABNF

The Sallie Tucker-Allen Graduate Nursing Student Research Scholarship ($500.00)

The recipient must be a member of ABNF.

Undergraduate Nursing Student Scholarship ($500.00)

The recipient must be a member of ABNF.

Excellence in Community Service and Engagement

The award is given in honor of an ABNF member who demonstrates a sustained effort of service and leadership to meet the needs of a community. Exemplars of the impact of the member’s service are identified.

Sallie Tucker Allen Outstanding Member Award

The award is awarded to an ABNF member who consistently demonstrates outstanding service and commitment to achieve the goals of ABNF.

Living Legend Award

The Living Legend Award is awarded to an ABNF member or members in honor of their extraordinary contributions to the nursing profession, sustained over the course of their careers.

Excellence in Academic Leadership

This award is given to an ABNF member who: demonstrates a high level of initiative; responsibility and resourcefulness to address challenges confronting the school or college of nursing; develops trust and credibility through open, respectful communication with faculty, students, staff and key stakeholders; invests time and effort in developing others to grow professionally; champions change effectively through formal or informal leadership; driven by a need to produce sustainable results; demonstrates worker like diligence in achieving positive outcomes; guided by values of fairness and doing the right thing for students, faculty and staff; and demonstrates a record of accomplishment in achieving awards for excellence.

Innovation in Teaching Award

The Innovations in Teaching Award is given to an ABNF member who demonstrates creativity and innovative teaching strategies that promote academic success and student achievement; demonstrates compassion and respect for students and creates a culture that encourages student expression of ideas; acts as an exemplary role model and exhibits professional values and standards and demonstrates evidence-based teaching/learning and integration of theory and practice. The awardee must have taught full-time for at least 2 consecutive years.